Four New Judges in the Court of Appeal

Four New Judges in the Court of Appeal

The judiciary has named four new Court of Appeal judges that have been elevated from their High Court positions. Mr Justice David Richards has sat in the Chancery Division of the High Court since 2003 and will be joined by Mr Justice Peregrine Simon, appointed to the Queen’s Bench Division in 2002.

The other half of the newly appointed quartet, Hamblen J and Lindblom J became High Court judges in 2008 and 2010 respectively. Despite both having less than 10 years experience at the High Court, Lindblom J has been President of the Upper Tribunal since 2013.


The CoA has stipulated that it has a specific need for judges with an expertise in crime and an expertise in planning. At present, there are 38 Lord Justices of Appeal, which was an increase from 37 made in 2008 in order to bear the augmenting workload of the Appeal court. The Judicial Appointments Commission were asked earlier in the year by former Lord Chancellor Chris Grayling to recommend judges that could replenish the CoA vacancies when four judges leave in the autumn.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Exclusive email insights, members-only careers events, insider tips and more.