The Lawyer Awards 2016

The Lawyer Awards 2016

The Lawyer Awards 2016 took place on Wednesday 29th June in London, which saw over 1,250 solicitors, barristers and senior corporate counsel in one room awaiting the results of the 27 awards available. The awards are judged by 43 top-lawyers and 2016 marks the first year that awards are available for In-House Energy Team of the Year and In-House Retail & Leisure Team of the Year.

Law Firm of the Year went to last year’s runner up Clyde & Co while International Firm of the Year went to Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher. Barrister of the Year went to Ben Emmerson QC of Matrix Chambers while Chamber of the Year went to Essex Court Chambers.

The full list of winners, runners up and those shortlisted is contained below. For more information on the work that these teams have carried out through the years, visit


Finance Team of the Year:

1st – Herbert Smith Freehills

2nd – Macfarlanes

3rd – Weil Gotshal & Manges

Shortlisted: DLA Piper, Hogan Lovells, King & Wood Mallesons, Mayer Brown International

Real Estate Team of the Year:

1st – Burges Salmon

2nd – Mayer Brown International

3rd – Hogan Lovells

Shortlisted: Berwin Leighton Paisner, Herbert Smith Freehills, King & Wood Mallesons, Nabarro

Corporate Team of the Year:

1st – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

2nd – Allen & Overy

3rd – Linklaters

Shortlisted: Clifford Chance, CMS, DLA Piper, Shearman & Sterling, Winston & Strawn

Competition Team of the Year:

1st – Slaughter & May

2nd – Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft

3rd – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Shortlisted: Hogan Lovells, Linklaters, Mishcon de Reya, Norton Rose Fulbright, Shepherd and Wedderburn

Infrastructure Projects Team of the Year:

1st – Pinsent Masons

2nd – Linklaters

3rd – Simmons & Simmons

Shortlisted: Bircham Dyson Bell, Dentons, Gowling WLG, Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy

Litigation Team of the Year:

1st – Irwin Mitchell

2nd – Hogan Lovells

3rd – Olswang

Shortlisted: Clyde & Co, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Herbert Smith Freehills, Jones Day, Hill Dickinson

Employment Team of the Year:

1st – Ashfords

2nd – UNISON Legal Services

3rd – Eversheds

Shortlisted: Herbert Smith Freehills, White & Case

Funds Team of the Year:

1st – King & Wood Mallesons

2nd – Osborne Clarke

3rd – Herbert Smith Freehills

Shortlisted: Ashurst, Hogan Lovells, Linklaters, Travers Smith

IP Team of the Year:

1st – Powell Gilbert

2nd – Wiggin

3rd – Bird & Bird

Shortlisted: CMS, Dentons, Simmons & Simmons, Taylor Wessing

Energy Team of the Year:

1st – CMS

2nd – Herbert Smith Freehills

3rd – Dentons

Shortlisted: Eversheds, Norton Rose Fulbright, Shearman & Sterling

Restructuring Team of the Year:

1st – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld

2nd – Weil, Gotshal & Manges

3rd – Slaughter & May

Shortlisted: Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy, Ropes & Gray, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, White & Case


In-house Commerce & Industry Team of the Year:

1st – Carlson Wagonlit Travel

2nd – Unilever

3rd – Skyscanner

Shortlisted: Chivas Brothers, CME Group, Coats Group

In-house TMT Team of the Year:

1st – Uber

2nd – BT/EE

3rd – Rugby Football Union

Shortlisted: Farfetch, JUST EAT, Pearson, Perform Group, Zoopia Property Group

In-house Banking & Financial Team of the Year:

1st – Funding Circle

2nd – TSB Bank

3rd – Hyperion Insurance Group

Shortlisted: Cabot Credit Management, Capital One, MBNA, Mercer, Metro Bank

In-house Public Sector Team of the Year:

1st – Financial Services Compensation Scheme

2nd – Sport England

3rd –  nplaw

Shortlisted: NEST Corporation, The Pension Protection Fund

In-house Health & Life Sciences Team of the Year:

1st – Spire Healthcare Group

2nd – GlaxoSmithKline

3rd – Teva Pharmaceuticals

Shortlisted: Genomics England, Roche Products

In-house Energy & Resources Team of the Year:

1st – RWE Innogy UK

2nd – Lightsource Renewable Energy

3rd – Shell

Shortlisted: Cairn Energy, National Grid, Ovo Energy, Tullow Oil

In-house Retail Team of the Year:

1st – Associated British Foods – Primark

2nd – InterContinental Hotels Group

3rd – Post Office

Shortlisted: Asda, Dixons Carphone, Morrisons, Sainsbury’s

In-house Lawyer of the Year:

1st – Ingrid Cope (Pernod Ricard)

2nd – Sally-Ann James (Metro Bank)

3rd – Galit Gonen (Teva Pharmaceuticals)

Shortlisted: Will Bloomer (Hyperion Insurance Group), Stefan Borson (Watchstone Group), Aidan Parsons (Bonnington Plastics), Monica Risam (Aviva), Sam Roberts (OneSavings Banks), Raj Singh-Dehal (Center Parcs)


Barrister of the Year:

1st – Ben Emmerson QC (Matrix Chambers)

2nd – Nathalie Lieven QC (Landmark Chambers)

3rd – Mark Simpson QC (Fountain Court Chambers)

Shortlisted: John Beggs QC (Serjeants’ Inn Chambers), Jason Coppel QC (11KBW), Alison Foster (39 Essex Chambers), Francis Hoar (Field Court Chambers), John McKendrick QC (Outer Temple Chambers)

Chambers of the Year:

1st – Essex Court Chambers

2nd – 1 Crown Office Row

3rd – Monckton Chambers

Shortlisted: 39 Essex Chambers, 9 Gough Square, Fountain Court Chambers, Radcliffe Chambers, Wilberforce Chambers


Pro-Bono Initiative of the Year:

1st – Avon & Bristol Law Centre

2nd – Linklaters

3rd – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Shortlisted: DLA Piper, Sidley Austin, The Queen Mary Legal Advice Centre, The Royal British Legion Solicitors Group, Weil, Gotshal & Manges


Offshore Firm of the Year:

1st – Harneys

2nd – Ogier

3rd – Carey Olsen

Shortlisted: Appleby, Collas Crill, Conyers Dill & Pearman, Maples and Calder, Mourant Ozannes

Boutique Firm of the Year:

1st – Roberts Jackson

2nd – Brecher

3rd – Poppleston Allen

Shortlisted: Bindmans, Brandsmiths, Byrne and Partners, Collingwood Legal, Fletchers Solicitors

Regional Firm of the Year:

1st – Brodies

2nd – Stevens & Bolton

3rd – Birketts

Shortlisted: Browne Jacobson, Capital Law, Flint Bishop Solicitors, Howes Percival, Michelmores

International Firm of the Year:

1st – Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher

2nd – Dentons

3rd – White & Case

Shortlisted: Cooley, Dechert, Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy, Paul Hastings, Weil, Gotshal & Manges

Law Firm of the Year:

1st – Clyde & Co

2nd – Pinsent Masons

3rd – RPC

Shortlisted: Herbert Smith Freehills, Macfarlanes, PricewaterhouseCoopers Legal, Shoosmiths, Stephenson Harwood

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Exclusive email insights, members-only careers events, insider tips and more.