Legal Business Awards 2016: Winners

Legal Business Awards 2016: Winners

The 19th annual Legal Business Awards took place last night at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London, which recognise the outstanding work of individuals, teams and firms within the legal industry. The awards acknowledge the work of UK lawyers working at either domestic or international firms as well as chambers and in-house legal teams with the exception of the US Law firm of the year and the International Law Firm of the year awards.

The Lawyer of the year award went to Slaughter & May’s Chris Saul who joined the firm in 1977 and has been a corporate partner since 1986 and a senior partner since 2008. Pinsent Masons picked up Law Firm of the year, beating out strong competition from Allen & Overy, Macfarlanes and Travers Smith. One of the Middle East’s largest firms, Al Tamimi & Company, won the International Law Firm of the year award while US Law Firm of the year was awarded to Los Angeles headquartered Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan. A full list of this year’s winners and nominees are detailed below.

TMT Team of the Year


DLA Piper

King & Wood Mallesons – WINNER



Powell Gilbert

Finance Team of the Year

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld

Herbert Smith Freehills – WINNER


Pinsent Masons

Simmons & Simmons

Weil, Gotshal & Manges

Restructuring Team of the Year

Allen & Overy

Hogan Lovells

Sidley Austin

Simmons & Simmons

Weil, Gotshal & Manges – WINNER

White & Case

Competition Team of the Year

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Linklaters – WINNER



Norton Rose Fulbright

Slaughter and May

Energy and Infrastructure Team of the Year


DLA Piper

Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy

Norton Rose Fulbright

Pinsent Masons – WINNER

Stephenson Harwood

Dispute Resolution Team of the Year

Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton

Herbert Smith Freehills/Jones Day – WINNER

Hogan Lovells

Humphries Kerstetter

Mishcon de Reya

Slaughter and May

Private Client Team of the Year

Boodle Hatfield

Charles Russell Speechlys

Irwin Mitchell – WINNER

McDermott Will & Emery

Penningtons Manches

Taylor Wessing

Insurance Team of the Year



Eversheds – WINNER

Herbert Smith Freehills

Norton Rose Fulbright


Corporate Team of the Year


Clifford Chance/Norton Rose Fulbright

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Gowling WLG

Jones Day

Shearman & Sterling – WINNER

Squire Patton Boggs

Private Equity Team of the Year

Addleshaw Goddard

Clifford Chance

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Latham & Watkins

Simpson Thacher & Bartlett

Travers Smith – WINNER

White & Case

Real Estate Team of the Year

Burges Salmon – WINNER


Hogan Lovells

King & Wood Mallesons

Mayer Brown


Winckworth Sherwood

Boutique Law Firm of the Year

Campbell Johnston Clark

Kemp Little

MJ Hudson

Radiant Law

Signature Litigation

Tapestry Compliance – WINNER

Three Crowns

Lawyer of the Year

Susan Crichton, TSB

Ian Forrester QC, White & Case

David Morley, Allen & Overy

Chris Saul, Slaughter and May – WINNER

Penelope Warne, CMS

CSR Programme of the Year


Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer



Reed Smith

Simmons & Simmons

International Firm of the Year

Al Tamimi & Company – WINNER

Arthur Cox


Goltsblat BLP




Rising Star In-House Counsel of the Year

Carole Deadman, Abbey Life Assurance

Henry Gardener, Markel International

Annaliese Hemsley, BATLaw

Daniel Whitehead, Citibank – WINNER

Matthew Wilson, Uber

Caroline Withers, Virgin Media

In-House Team of the Year


Funding Circle

InterContinental Hotels


Roche Products


Skyscanner – WINNER

Management Partner of the Year

Ray Berg , Osborne Clarke

Nick Buckworth, Shearman & Sterling

James Burns, Clyde & Co – WINNER

Michael Chissick, Fieldfisher

Tim Eyles, Taylor Wessing

Chris Lowe/Lothar Wegener, Watson Farley & Williams

Margaret Robertson, Withers

US Law Firm of the Year

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld

Boies, Schiller & Flexner

Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher

Latham & Watkins

Paul Hastings

Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan – WINNER

Ropes & Gray

Legal Innovator of the Year

DAC Beachcroft

DLA Piper


Gowling WLG

Lawyers On Demand – WINNER

Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom

Legal Technology Team of the Year


Berwin Leighton Paisner



Kennedys – WINNER

Osborne Clarke


National/Regional Firm of the Year


Bond Dickinson


Browne Jacobson

Foot Anstey


Stevens & Bolton – WINNER

Law Firm of the Year

Allen & Overy


Mishcon de Reya

Pinsent Masons – WINNER

Stephenson Harwood

Stewarts Law

Travers Smith

Exclusive email insights, members-only careers events, insider tips and more.